Hillsborough Library Teens

Oct 20

[video]

Oct 16

[video]

Oct 15

What’s New Wednesday

Here’s some of our newest YA books!  Click the title to view the book in our catalog, read reviews, or place it on hold.


     Words and Their Meanings
     by Kate Bassett

     Seventeen-year-old Anna O’Mally is a gifted writer but for the past year, since her beloved uncle Joe died, she has been wrapped in grief that seems impenetrable until a strange e-mail suggests she did not know Joe as well as she thought - and he was not the saint she believed he was.  (Realistic Fiction, Mystery)


     Messenger of Fear
     by Michael Grant

     The Messenger of Fear brings justice to those who do wrong, creating frightening games where the players earn their redemption - or lose their sanity - and somehow Mara, fifteen, has become his apprentice.  (Paranormal Fantasy, 1st in a planned series).


     A Little Something Different
     by Sandy Hall

     College students Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class and have the same interests, but it looks like things are never going to work out between them because Lea is a little aloof and Gabe is a little shy.  Their romance is told through the perspectives of fourteen onlookers, from Lea’s roommate to Gabe’s best friend, their creative writing teacher, and the barista at the local Starbucks.  (Realistic Fiction, Romance)


     Firebug
     by Lish McBride

     Ava, a contracted hit man who can start fires with her mind, hits the road with her friends, desperately trying to escape the Coterie, a magical mafia, while keeping the murder to a minimum after she is asked to kill a family friend by Venus, who killed Ava’s mother.  (Fantasy, Adventure, Danger)


     Get Even
     by Gretchen McNeil

     Bree, Olivia, Kitty, and Margot have nothing in common - at least that’s what they’d like the students and administrators of their elite private school to think.  The girls have different goals, different friends, and different lives, but they share one very big secret:  They’re all members of Don’t Get Mad, a secret society that anonymously takes revenge on the school’s bullies, mean girls, and tyrannical teachers.  When their latest target ends up dead with a blood-soaked zDGMy card in his hands, the girls realize that they’re not as anonymous as they thought - and that someone now wants revenge on them.  (Mystery, Revenge)


     Stronger Than You Know
     by Jolene Perry

     After fifteen years of horrific abuse and neglect by her mother and her mother’s boyfriends, Joy struggles to understand and accept a normal life with relatives, at school, and with a boyfriend.  (Emotional Problems, Abuse, Overcoming Obstacles)

Oct 14

Calling All Artists & Writers!

What do Truman Capote, Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, and Robert Redford have in common?  They are all past recipients of the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards!  The contest is open to students in Grades 7-12, and there’s $10 million in scholarships on the line!

Polish up your favorite project and visits artandwriting.org to find out how to enter - categories range from poetry to sculpture to video game design - and check the deadline in your region.

Winners are published in the Best Teen Writing anthology series, and top awardees are feted at a Carnegie Hall ceremony.  Don’t hesitate.  Glory could be yours!

- description from GoodReads

Oct 08

What’s New Wednesday

Here’s some of our newest YA books.  Click the title to view the book in our catalog, read reviews, or place it on hold!


     The Twyning
     by Terence Blacker

     This is a story about courage, of sacrifice, and of survival.  This is the story of a rat and a boy whose fates become inextricably linked as their two worlds collide.  Eften, a bold young ratling, dares to journey about the underground rat kingdom, where he discovers Dr. Ross-Gibbon’s plan to exterminate the rat population.  Dogboy, assistant to Dr. Ross-Gibbon, is an abandoned thirteen-year-old with a gift for understanding animals.  As war wages between the human world and the rat kingdom, Dogboy must decide where his allegiances truly lie.  (Fantasy, Action/Adventure, Readalike for Redwall)


     The Walk On
     by John Feinstein

     After moving to a new town his freshman year in high school, Alex Myers is happy to win a spot on the varsity team as a quarterback but must deal with the idea of not playing for two years since the first-string quarterback is not only a local hero, he is also son of the corrupt head coach.  Book #1 of the Triple Threat series.  (Sports Fiction)


     Kiss of Broken Glass
     by Madeleine Kuderick

     A tale told through evocative verse chronicles a mandatory seventy-two-hour psychiatric evaluation of a teen who has been caught cutting herself in an effort to feel alive.  (Self-harm Fiction, Semi-biographical)

”[…] a great discussion starter for teens, families, and educators.  Back matter includes a note in which the author discusses her inspiration for writing this difficult tale.  A resources section with reliable websites and phone numbers for anyone struggling with self-harm issues is included.” - School Library Journal


     Falling Into Place
     by Amy Zhang

     One cold fall day, high school junior Liz Emerson steers her car into a tree.  This haunting and heartbreaking story is told by a surprising and unexpected narrator and unfolds in nonlinear flashbacks even as Liz’s friends, foes, and family gather at the hospital and Liz clings to life.  (Heavy emotional themes, Depression, Personal struggles)

Oct 02

marielubooks:

It’s official: the Legend graphic novel will release next summer (2015)!

Whoa!  We’re HUGE fans of Legend.  Excited to see how the graphic novel will look!

marielubooks:

It’s official: the Legend graphic novel will release next summer (2015)!

Whoa!  We’re HUGE fans of Legend.  Excited to see how the graphic novel will look!

(via yareadersml)

Oct 01

What’s New Wednesday

Here’s some of our newest YA books.  Click the title to view the book in our catalog, read reviews, or place it on hold!

  Zac & Mia
  by A.J. Betts

  The last person Zac expects in the room next door is a girl like Mia, angry and feisty with questionable taste in music.  In the real world, he wouldn’t - couldn’t - be friends with her.  In a hospital, different rules apply, and what begins as a knock on the wall leads to a note - then a friendship neither of them sees coming.  (Realistic Fiction, Friendship, Sickness, Readalikes for The Fault in our Stars and Eleanor and Park)


  The Girl From the Well
  by Rin Chupeco

  Okiku has wandered the world for centuries, freeing the innocent ghosts of the murdered-dead and taking the lives of killers with the vengeance they are due, but when she meets Tark she knows the moody teen with the series of intricate tattoos is not a monster and needs to be freed from the demonic malevolence that clings to him.  (Horror, Japanese legends, Read if you liked The Ring/Ringu)


  Rumble
  by Ellen Hopkins

  Eighteen-year-old Matt’s atheism is tested when, after a horrific accident of his own making that plunges him into a dark, quiet place, he hears a voice that calls everything he has ever disbelieved into question.  (Novels in Verse, Atheism, Grief)



  Fiendish
  by Brenna Yovanoff

  Clementine DeVore, seventeen, is determined to learn what happened ten years ago that led to her magical imprisonment and problems in her town, but a dangerous attraction to Fisher, the boy who freed her, town politics, and the terrifying Hollow get in the way.  (Paranormal, Magic, Dark Fantasy)

  Amity
  by Micol Ostow

  Two teens narrate the terrifying days and nights they spend living in a house of horrors.  (Horror, Psychological Fiction, Loosely based on The Amityville Horror, Read if you like Stephen King or The Conjuring)

Sep 30

[video]

Sep 26

Which Banned Book Are You? -

Teen Librarian Diane Valentine got The Grapes of Wrath.  
What did you get?

(Source: americanlibraryassoc, via bookishlyyoungadultreads)

Sep 25

oliviawhen:

foxadhd:

Happy Autumn!

If you’re not excited about autumn and dogs you can leaf.

oliviawhen:

foxadhd:

Happy Autumn!

If you’re not excited about autumn and dogs you can leaf.